KLANGSPUREN SCHWAZ

ZEENA PARKINS

IMPROVISER IN RESIDENCE 2019

 

Nails, erasers, hair clips, and felt are things Zeena Parkins always has with her when she goes on stage with her harp because she sees her instrument as a “sound machine of limitless capacity”. Innovative preparations and unusual playing techniques are the trademarks of the American harpist, who plays both electric and acoustic instruments. Parkins seeks to overcome musical borders without doing away with them entirely, making both the melting together and emphasis of these opposites equally audible in her work. Born in Detroit in 1956, Parkins, who also has a degree in classical piano, likes to explore tension-filled realms: between improv and composition, electronic and acoustic, digital and analog.    

 

Parkins also looks for her artistic partners in various genres. She has written film music and worked for theatre and dance productions. In the 1990s, Parkins founded her Gangster Band, a septet with strings, percussion, and electronics. Long active in the New York Downtown Scene, she has played with such artists as John Zorn, Jim O‘Rourke, Nels Cline, Nate Wooley, or Kaffe Matthews, but has also performed in projects by Björk or Yoko Ono. Zeena Parkins has collaborated for many years with Elliott Sharp, performing repeatedly in his Orchestra Carbon, and Fred Frith, who brought her into his legendary trio Skeleton Crew with Tom Cora in the 1980s and later recruited her into his current band Cosa Brava

 

Last but not least, there is the electronic musician Ikue Mori, with whom Parkins formed the duo Phantom Orchard, which was later expanded into a Phantom Orchard Orchestra. The wondrous sounds of this eerie garden, the opulent diversity that Parkins and Mori planted for the first time in 2004, like a lush, poison-green oasis in the middle of a then mostly grey electronic desert, completely blindsided everyone who had until then associated computer music with sober abstraction.

Zeena Parkins

KLANGSPUREN SCHWAZ

ZEENA PARKINS

IMPROVISER IN RESIDENCE 2019

 

Nägel, Radiergummis, Haarspangen und Filz hat Zeena Parkins immer dabei, wenn sie mit ihrer Harfe die Bühne betritt. Denn die Musikerin sieht ihr Instrument als eine „Klang-Maschine mit unbegrenzter Kapazität“. Innovative Präparationen und ungewöhnliche Spieltechniken sind Markenzeichen der US-amerika¬nischen Harfenistin, die sowohl auf elektrischen als auch auf akustischen Instrumenten spielt. Parkins will musikalische Grenzen überwinden, ohne sie ganz aufzuheben, um die Verschmelzung und die Betonung von Gegensätzen gleichermaßen hörbar zu machen. Die 1956 in Detroit geborene Musikerin, die auch ein Studium als klassische Pianistin absolvierte, bewegt sich gerne in Spannungs-feldern: zwischen Improvisation und Komposition, Elektronik und Akustik, digital und analog.  

 

Auch ihre künstlerischen PartnerInnen sucht Parkins in verschiedenen Genres. So hat sie Filmmusiken geschrieben, für Theater- und Tanzproduktionen gearbeitet. In den 1990er Jahren gründete Parkins ihre Gangster Band, ein Septett mit Streichern, Perkussion und Electronics. Seit langem in der New Yorker Downtown-Szene aktiv, spielte sie unter anderen mit John Zorn, Jim O'Rourke, Nels Cline, Nate Wooley oder Kaffe Matthews, wirkte aber auch in Projekten von Björk oder Yoko Ono mit. Langjährige künstlerische Partnerschaften verbinden Zeena Parkins außerdem mit Elliott Sharp, in dessen Orche-stra Carbon sie immer wieder zu hören ist, und mit Fred Frith, der sie mit Tom Cora in den 1980er Jahren in das legendäre Trio Skeleton Crew holte und später in seine derzeitige Band Cosa Brava.  

 

Nicht zuletzt ist die Elektronik-Musikerin Ikue Mori zu nennen, mit der Parkins das Duo Phantom Orchard formte, das später auch zu einem Phantom Orchard Orchestra erweitert wurde. Die wundersa-men Klänge dieses Geistergartens, die üppige Vielfalt, die Parkins und Mori erstmals 2004 wie eine satte, giftgrüne Oase inmitten einer damals meist grauen elektronischen Wüste pflanzten, überrumpelte alle, die Computermusik bis dahin mit nüchterner Abstraktion assoziiert hatten.

Zeena Parkins