Klangspuren Schwaz
04.10.2018 17:10 Age: 228 days

THU 09/20


8:00 p.m., Knappensaal im SZentrum, Andreas-Hofer-Str. 10, Schwaz


Klaus Lang

origami. for flute, für Flöte, accordion and violoncello (2011) 14’

tehran dust. for violoncello and harmonium (2013) 10’

darkness and freedom. for flute, accordion and violoncello (2016/2017) WP 20’

Bernhard Lang

Monadologie XXI „… for Franz II“ for flute, violoncello and quarter-tone accordion (after Schubert op. 99)


Trio Amos

Sylvie Lacroix (flute)

Michael Moser (violoncello)

Krassimir Sterev (accordion)

Klaus Lang (harmonium)


7:15 p.m. Introduction Matthias Osterwold, artistic director KLANGSPUREN SCHWAZ, talks with the composer of the concert

The man who originally brought together the three instruments: flute, accordion, and cello and led the three musicians to form the Vienna-based ensemble Trio Amos was Bernhard Lang. In the late 1990s he wrote a cycle of three solo pieces Schrift 1, 2, and 3 for these instruments and musicians and in 2000 he composed Differenz/Wiederholung 3, the first work for this formation. Since then Trio Amos has sought to expand its repertoire by encouraging composers to write works for this instrumentation.  


Klaus Lang and Bernhard Lang rank among the leading composers of their generation in Austria, and they are also highly acclaimed internationally. In terms of their aesthetics, both of these artists are very controversial and have long-standing bonds with KLANGSPUREN.  


The first half of the concert presents three works by Klaus Lang. Born in Graz in 1961, Klaus Lang is a master of reduction and of pure music with the subtlest tonal objects. origami envisions the human spirit as a piece of multiply folded paper; tehran dust for violoncello and harmonium – the latter played by Klaus Lang himself – was inspired by a sojourn in Iran, which later resulted in a travel ban to the USA; darkness and freedom is the world premiere of a piece Klaus Lang wrote for Trio Amos in 2016/2017.  


Bernhard Lang, born in 1957, lives in Vienna: “Monadologie XXI is the second of the Schubert adaptations in the Monadologie series: the first referred to Schubert’s piano trio in E-flat major, this one to his piano trio in B-flat major. On the one hand, it was inspired by my reverence for Schubert... on the other hand, it was stimulated by Krassimir Sterev, who introduced me to the quarter-tone accordion. As with all the Monadologien, the piece departs from cellular monadic materials. These are then transformed into chaotic systems using granulators and cellular automata. What results is a kind of hyper-virtuoso clockwork-texture...”


Radio air date: Ö1, Zeit-Ton on 10/01, 11:03 p.m.