Skip to main content
SAT 12/09


Aula der Sozial und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, Universitätsstr. 15, Innsbruck


7.30 pm
Introduction Michael Zwenzner, music journalist, in conversation with Gloria Coates and Klaus Lang


8 pm

Gloria Coates Symphony No. 1 „Music on Open Strings“
Klaus Lang vier gefäße. staub. licht. ÖEA
Beat Furrer Xenos III


Münchener Kammerorchester
Beat Furrer conductor

Founded in 1950, the Munich Chamber Orchestra is peerless in its pursuit of the high art of ensemble string playing today – both in the classical and the contemporary repertoire. Since 1995 the MKO has given more than 70 world premiere performances of works by internationally renowned composers, including Klaus Lang’s extremely quiet and harmonically nuanced vier gefäße. staub. licht (2011) for 22 strings, which will have its Austrian premiere at KLANGSPUREN. No instrument group is more suited to explore this year’s festival theme Tunes & Tunings in all its multiple aspects and layers than strings. As even the sliding movement of one single glissando on the violin illustrates, every string player has the capability to move throughout the entire tonal range of the instrument without any steps, thus making music resound that is beyond any established tonal system. The three works featured at this year’s guest appearance by MKO do this in very different manners. The American Gloria Coates, a resident of Munich, already had the idea for her First Symphony in four movements in 1973: at first the open strings are untuned, and during the course of the piece they are tuned in the conventional sense; this is the reason for the work’s original title, Music on Open Strings. The concert will be conducted by this year’s Composer in Residence at the festival, Beat Furrer, who is also the composer of the evening’s third work: Xenos III (2010/13) adds two solo percussion parts to a string section playing richly differentiated harmonics.